News on the go










Textile Commissioner Dr Kavita Gupta & Mr Rahul Mehta, President, CMAI present the Prestigious Award to Mr Sanjay Lalbhai, Executive Chairman –Arvind Lifestyle Brands Ltd. 

Mr Sanjay Lalbhai bestowed with CMAI’s Lifetime Achievement Award for the Year 2017

The Clothing Manufacturers Association of India (CMAI)’s Life time Achievement Award for the Year 2017 was conferred upon Mr Sanjay Lalbhai, Executive Chairman – Arvind Lifestyle Brands Ltd. for his Role as a Leader, a Visionary and an Entrepreneur and for Invaluable and Outstanding Contribution to the Growth of the Apparel Industry in India. Textile Commissioner Dr Kavita Gupta and Mr Rahul Mehta, President – CMAI presented the Prestigious Award to Mr Sanjay Lalbhai at a glittering APEX AWARDS 2017 NIGHT held on  29th January 2018, the First Evening of the 66th National Garment Fair at NSE Complex, Goregaon (East), Mumbai.

The 66th National Garment Fair was held on 29th & 30th January 2018 where 412 Brands displayed their latest Spring/Summer Collection in Men’s Wear, Women’s Wear, Kids Wear, Ethnic Wear and Fashion Accessories.

CMAI has instituted the APEX AWARDS (National Awards for Excellence in Apparel) since 2003. APEX AWARDS 2017 was brought by Wazir Advisors Pvt. Ltd. and Nielsen India Pvt. Ltd. was the research partner. 500 retailers were surveyed to finalise the award winners in 22 categories.

At the Awards Night , Dr Kavita Gupta, Textile Commissioner stated that the Textiles & Clothing Industry had promised  the government to bring an investment of ₹ 80,000 Crore along with creation of employment opportunities for 1 crore people within 3 years. Already 2 years have passed but investment to the tune of ₹ 7,000 Crore and employment of only 1 lakh persons was achieved. She reiterated that the Industry should try to fulfill its promise given to the government. The Union Textile Ministry has announced the ₹ 6,000 Crore Special Apparel Package in July 2017 and the Garment & Made ups Industry should take advantage of the scheme.

Mr Rahul Mehta, President – CMAI stated that the domestic market  growth rate of the Apparel Industry was flat during 2017-18 due to demonetization and GST. However, things are stabilising and the growth rate is anticipated to be between 10% & 12% in the fiscal year 2018-19. On the export front, if the government does not increase duty drawback rates, there could be a possibility of negative growth in the export sector.

Mr Sanjay Lalbhai, Winner of Lifetime Achievement Award predicted a bright future for the Indian Apparel Industry in the near future. He further stated that unprecedented new developments would be seen in the manufacturing & marketing sectors of the apparel industry in the coming years.

Mr Jayesh Shah, ChairmanApex Awards Sub Committee stated that APEX AWARDS 2017 were given in 22 categories. CMAI’s SME Awards for the Most Admired Women’s Wear Brands were given to 109F and Zola, for the Most Admired Kids Wear Brands was given to Blazo and Peppermint and for Most Admired Menswear Brands was given to Statusquo and Octave.

The Retail Professional of the Year Award was given to Mr Vishnu Prasad, CEO of Future Group. The Entrepreneur of the Year Award went to Mr Nikhil Mohan and Mr Nitin Mohan of Mohan Clothing Company Pvt. Ltd.

The Most Admired Kids Wear Brand of the Year award was received by United Colors of Benetton and the Most Admired Men’s & Women’s Innerwear Brand was Jockey. The Most Admired Women’s Ethnic Brand of the Year went to Biba and the Most Admired Women’s Western Wear Brand went to AND. The Most Admired Men’s Indian Ethnic Wear Brand of the Year went to Manyavar.

The Award for Most Admired Men’s Formal Wear Brand of the Year went to Louis Philippe and the Most Admired Men’s Casual Wear Brand of the Year went to Levi’s.

The President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution by a CMAI Member to The Industry was given to Mr M L Bangera of Climax Apparel Pvt. Ltd.

The Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Award was presented to Mrs Beena Kannan, CEO –M/s. Seematti.

The Most Admired Clothing Company of the Year Award was shared by Aditya Birla Fashion & Retail Ltd. and Raymond Apparel Ltd.

Related Articles
Leave a Comment